webuser_578871216

First homeowner (no experience) being taken advantage of with Defects

HU-578871216
4 years ago

I'd love to chat to someone that has experience building, to find out if i am well within my rights to seek compensation for what we paid, how bad the end result is, what we can maneuver our life around for them to come and fix, AND what the project manager is telling me they will do to "fix" we feel completely taken advantage of.

Comments (9)

• HU-578871216
    Original Author
    4 years ago

Adelaide!

• PRO
    Imagine Property Development
    4 years ago

I’m a builder in Brisbane.

In QLD there is a document derived for standards and tolerances. See link.

https://www.qbcc.qld.gov.au/sites/default/files/Standards_and_Tolerances_Guide_0.pdf

This document is collated from the National Construction Code, Australian Standards, Manufacturers Specifications and so on. Owners and contractors alike can use it as an easy to reference guide for standards etc (including defects).

In QLD, the construction industry governing body that is responsible for contractor licensing and consumer complaints is - The Queensland Building and Construction Commission. In SA you will have your own version of this, a third party who you can turn to if you need advice or are unhappy with work quality.

Whilst the industry standards are a good thing, they can be pretty loose. Meaning if your builder has achieved them but you are unhappy their might not be much you can do.

If you need to know anything further I’m happy to advise.

• HU-578871216
    Original Author
    4 years ago