webuser_210544714

Overamping and hard start kits

jimmy w
27 days ago

I have a 3 y/o Lennox two-stage, split system HVAC unit that works well, Parts are warranted for ten years. The vendor performs two inspections (cooling/heating) annually. Each year, they reported that my system's inrush was overamping by about 10 amps. The techs advised that the overamping will hasten the failure of my compressor, and suggested that I authorize the installation of a hard start kit. They quoted a price of $600.

While I can do average homeowner electrical work, I'm not an electrician or an HVAC tech. However, I did some research that included discussions with HVAC techs. It seems that I would need a 5-2-1 hard start kit, which I could buy for about $30. The installation looks very simple, though I'd call a tech to do it, and I suspect it would take about 20 minutes.

So, what's the deal? Do I really need one of these, and if so, isn't $600 way out of line? I imagien a tech would charge $100-$150.

Comments (31)

• klem1
    27 days ago

"System's inrush over ramping by about 10 amps" doesn't tell me a thing. "IF" he's saying LRA is 10 amps above rating plate,what is the exact supply volts to unit AND is there a significant voltage drop during start up? Do lights in your house dim during start up? What is time lapse of LRA and how does that compare to mfgrs time allowance?

Have you considered a written discussion with Lennox? If unit needs a hard start it is either malfunctioning or should have included one from factory. Car manufactures routinely pay dealers to replace or add parts deemed necessary after the fact,why not hvac mfgrs? Must I repeat "written" and why? Did tech give you a written report including diagnostics which say hard start kit is needed? Include report with correspondence with Lennox. If you haven't received written report ,ask vendor's office for a detailed report and carefully notice their reaction. Can you see where this is going?