benners001

Yellow semi circles on white granite

Nikki
5 months ago

Hello! I hoping for some advice. We've recently had 'Vento White' granite work surfaces fitted and just a couple of days after it was fitted, some semi circular yellow marks appeared on the surface in 3 separate areas. The yellow is not what I'd call a natural yellow and looks (to me) like a chemical yellow as opposed to something naturally occurring within the stone (I'm not an expert so forgive me - this is pure speculation). The granite had not been used/cleaned or had any spillages so nothing to cause a stain from the surface.

When I raised it with the stone mason who fitted it, he agreed that the marks are coming through the granite from under the seal (as opposed to something we spillt), but also added that he's never seen anything like this before and had no idea what may have caused it. His only suggestion was that it's just one of the things that can naturally occur when you choose granite over man made (quartz), he had already told me that he didn't like fitting granite (over quartz) due to it's unpredictability.

I'm upset as the kitchen is not even finished yet. We spent ages picking out a white granite (we did not want quartz as we didn't want anything 'uniform' in appearance) and originally chose Bianco Calypso granite, but the stone mason put us off and said it was very soft and would mark terribly. So we went to a stone yard on his recommendation and picked out for 2 massive slabs of Vento White (as it was the only light colour granite they had). I'm calling it granite, but I'm still unclear whether it is, because although it was sold to us as granite, the stone mason suspects it's quartzite (not sure if this is relevant).