sublimeus

Help Needed: Cost for Prewire Cat6, Coax and 5.1

Michael Goss
5 years ago

Hi,

My contractor says he can run whatever wire we need but I need to be the expert and go purchase the wire and then tell him where we need it. The price is right but I am no expert. They also wont terminate.

A expert in prewiring and termination provided a quote. The quote includes 35 hours to run the prewire, terminate and its $135 an hour. I live in Northern California. Overall to wire a 2400 SQ ft house its ~ 5k for the wiring and another 2k for the equipment.

Does this sound right? I am not getting much help from my contractor except he says its high. My fear is i want this done right but i don't want to be taken to the cleaners.

Thanks,

Meghan

Comments (10)

• User
    5 years ago
    last modified: 5 years ago

It will not be $1.98. You have hired the wrong GC if he does not have his own subcontractor that can do this under his supervision. Hiring a sub yourself technically makes you the General Contractor on the job and responsible for the outcome, and coordinating your sub with the rest.

• weedmeister
    5 years ago

To me, $135/hr is a lot to just pull wires. If this is just the rough-in stage, the GC can get it done with the other electrical. You'll need to show on the plans where you want the boxes. And you'll need to supply low-voltage boxes for the rooms. As to the central 'hub', you'll need to specify where this is, and how many AC outlets you'll need in that location (1 or 2?).

Basically, after the rough-in is done, someone else can come along and terminate everything. You'll probably supply the Ethernet 'switch', coax stuff, and so on.

• freeoscar
    5 years ago

That sounds very high for a 2400 square foot house, but nothing surprises me when California is involved. How many points are you running to?

• User
    5 years ago