daisy21061

Wooden floors in the kitchen??

daisy21061
10 years ago
Hi
I REALLY love wooden floors in the kitchen. But here in Ireland they're not really that popular. Tiles are. So when I mentioning wooden floors in the kitchen to sales people I get funny looks.
Has anyone any success/failure stories? Pros/cons?
Should I be looking for a certain type of wood?

Comments (20)

• robinseattle
    10 years ago
    wood is so much nicer on the feet and on dropped glassware. You cant let water sit on it for too long, but it's tough enough for our family of 3 kids - but then I'm not that worried about distressing. I'm no expert on types of wood, but oak has worked fine for us!
  • Bret Schwalb
    10 years ago
    There is a good article about this from Consumer Reports magazine. We've had laminate in our home kitchen for years because it looks and feels like wood, but holds up to water better. You can't refinish it, so after a couple of decades it will need to be replaced. At that point you can probably find a recycler who will take it. We have two young kids and they have yet to damage it. Hope this helps!
  • halfpint2
    10 years ago
    Wood flooring has come such a long way! Buy good quality flooring and hire a contractor that knows how to put it in, you'll love it!
  • PRO
    Stephanie Boegeman-RE/MAX Results
    10 years ago
    I love the feel of wood flooring in the kitchen (softer on the feet) and absorbs sound better than tile. I also think it is easier to clean since you don't have grout lines to deal with.
  • Kari D
    10 years ago
    I think you would love it, and others would be green with envy once they saw it. I've had oak in the past and it's very durable. I currently have dark walnut floors that are 100 years old. They need refinished but otherwise are in great condition. I heard bamboo is very tough too.
  • Bret Schwalb
    10 years ago