hopingforsunshine

Replace single panel/compact radiators with column, advice?

hopingforsunshine
2 years ago
last modified: 2 years ago

As a home improvement noob I hope I can get some advice from all you lovely people before I approach plumbers.

I'm looking at replacing all the radiators in the house which are a combination of 'compact' and the old flat 'single panel?' radiators to the column radiators which are much more my taste aesthetically. I do have a very limited budget so would really appreciate any advice.

So excluding the cost of the radiator itself...

1) How much should a plumber be charging to do a straight forward swap of the radiators?

2) Would it cost a lot more if I got smaller radiators? as the pipes would have to be connected in a different place?

3) Would it cost a lot more if I wanted to move the radiators to a different wall?

4) I'm looking to get my existing floorboards replaced so am I right in thinking it makes more sense for the radiators to be done first before the floor being redone?

5) For column radiators I've seen 2/3/4 column options, is there much of a difference other than the aesthetic, between these options? Does the amount of heat being released differ at all?

Sorry if these are silly questions but like I said, I'm completely clueless!

Oh I'm based on the outskirts of York if that also helps.

Comments (2)

• arc3d
    2 years ago

Hi Louise,

1 - Most charge a daily rate. Anything from £100 to £250 per day. Really depends on a lot of factors like experience, location etc.

2 - smaller radiators may be cheaper to buy but the extra work of moving pipes could put the price over that of larger ones that don't need pipes adjusting.

3 - Yes it will cost more to relocate the radiators. The more work for the plumber the more he'll charge. Plus the cost of new pipes.

4 - Yes it makes much more sense to get radiators done while floorboards are up. Less work for the plumber the less he'll charge.