webuser_543287035

Laminate flooring in kitchen. Yay or nay?

HU-543287035
3 years ago

I'm looking for a material for my floor that I can carry throughout my open plan house. Wood is a no-no because of cost plus it's sensitivity to water. I'm not the biggest fan of hard tile under my feet.

So I'm left with laminate / vinyl. Please share views if it is hardy enough for a kitchen and also if it works ok with underfloor heating? Any other suggestions?

Comments (10)

• Karenza Roy
    3 years ago

Depends how contemporary you want to be. I'm not a professional so can't help with the under floor heating regarding the vinyl but vinyl definitely doesn't look too classy. why don't you like tiles? you can find waterproof finishes for wood flooring too btw

• User
    3 years ago

LVT usually works with under floor heating and is more water resistant than laminate. Laminate has to be well sealed or it will swell if it gets wet. I have used water resistant Quick Step laminate in my lounge, but I wouldn't use it in the kitchen. I have porcelain tiles in my kitchen. Perhaps you could consider wood effect tiles? I'm considering wood effect LVT for my hallway.

• Nicholas Scott
    3 years ago

Have a think about Amtico/Karndean or ceramic tiled

• Sonia
    3 years ago

My sister has wood effective porcelain tiles laid in a herringbone pattern, laid over under floor heating. It’s lovely and cosy in winter and cool in summer.

• 88wj88
    3 years ago

In my new house I wanted wood effect tiles, as they are good at transferring heat for underfloor heating and so easy to keep clean and they look just like a wood floor. This house is a newbuild, and I have been persuaded to have Amtico style LVT with a promise they will be just as good as tiles ( fingers crossed!)

• tamp75
    3 years ago