webuser_146885992

Bungalow revamp

Ess Vee
last month

Hi all 👋🏽
Lockdown has meant I've finally decided I need to stop procrastinating and to get some home renovations done.

would appreciate thoughts and suggestions as I'm a total novice!

attached: - current layout
-architect plan A

• plan B
  • my noodling plan C

I like the idea of bifolds across the entire back, but I'm not so keen on an open plan kitchen, living space. any thoughts on a partial wall? I guess there is no way to separate off the rooms completely?
originally thought of having a shower room and ensuite downstairs - now I'm thinking one shower room with Jack and Jill doors
I don't really need so many bedrooms so was thinking there could be pocket doors between the bedroom and living room to all is it to be a through-lounge most of the time...

upstairs create a dedicated office space bedroom and bathroom.

does it all look cramped and boxy?
am I optimising on the space?

thanks,

Comments (6)

• Ess Vee
    Original Author
    last month

Can an attic hatch door be created and can this part of the roof be used for storage?

• PRO
    Base 2 roof construction
    last month

i would say go ahead with plan C on ground floor definitely. 2 bathrooms as like on plan A it would be very tight and don't forget about it plan C is your idea that means you more prefer that idea too.

in regards of the loft area i agree with Jonathan. we moved a staircase on one of the bungalow we built to create L shaped corner area for a bedroom and bathroom upstairs.

however you might end up better if you move the bathroom to the right hand side and have the bedrooms towards to the left then you could still use a lower area as a storage. if the bathroom fitted close to the back you would loose a chance to use all of your space in the hatch.

• Ess Vee
    Original Author
    last month

Thank you both!

@Jonathan as the loft conversion will be new; I've kind of become accustomed to sleeping downstairs 🙃