sam_potter37

Bedroom decorating scheme advice

Sam Potter
4 years ago

Hi
I'm at it again. This time it's my bedroom. I've bought a second hand kingsize ottoman bed. And a set of IKEA pax sliding wardrobe doors.
My room is 4m x approx 5m, and my intention is to have pax wardrobes across the 4m fireplace wall. It's blocked up so no issues there. Two deep ones will sit in the alcoves and two shallow ones will sit in front of the chimney breast.
I have a window on the wall adjacent to the chimney breast and the door is at end of the wall opp. the chimney breast, furthest from the window wall.
Bargain hunting has forced me into a colour scheme I've never used before. The bed is 'mink' (it looks pink to me). And the wardrobe doors are grey glass.
What colour/s should I paint the walls? The ceiling is high (3m), with a fab cornice. The window is 1m wide by 2m tall, with a stripped antique pine surround. The floor is white painted floorboards.
The pendant bedside lights are currently on black fabric flexes, with tin cans used as shades, which I love but am open to change.The central pendant has a large paper shade.
I'm open to anything, but I like the idea of understated relaxing luxury. First time for everything

Comments (73)

• Jonathan
    4 years ago

What you put on the floor is down to you. If you choose carpet you can get a luxurious feeling polypropylene carpet (I would choose a silver grey) but expect the pile to be flattened in a few years.
    Given so much of the floor will be covered with furniture would rugs be easier? If you choose a rug a would have a patterned one for practicality and choose one in a more saturated color version of the bed color - try a claret color next to it to see what you think

• Sam Potter
    Original Author
    4 years ago