alilee77

Remove and replace Stipa Tenuissima with...?

alilee77
4 years ago

Hi,

I completely understand that Stipa Tenuissima is a very popular plant, but I'm just not keen on them in my garden. So I'm looking to remove them, but I'm really struggling to find any advice on what I can replace them with that will still provide some variety to my perennial boarders in terms of height, colour and texture.

Any advice or thoughts would be massively appreciated - every where I look people are just recommending more grasses.

A little more info if useful...

Our garden is a typical London garden, so not that large. It is south facing and can get a lot of sun. It's my first proper garden, so I am still learning, but really enjoying learning more each year. We currently have a combination of perennials such as Astilbes, Astrantia, Libertia chilensis, Knautia macedonica and Hebes along the slightly more shaded side, whilst on the other side we have a mixture of Salvia, Erysimum, Little Spires, Whirling butterflies, Agastache and Achilia.

I was convinced by my garden designer a few years ago to include a number of Stipa Tenuissama grasses to mix in with my perennials, on both sides, even though I wasn't a huge fan. I can see the how they can look good, however they are now starting to take over, they look messy and are drowning out some of my other plants. In some cases plants are now growing at strange angles just to get around them or not growing at all.

I tried cutting them back last year and this is my 3rd year giving them a go, but they just aren't working for me. Any advice hugely appreciated.

Thanks

Comments (6)

• obobble
    4 years ago

Dogwood or shrubby willow would give you a similar shape and height, foliage during spring and summer and coloured stems in winter.

• rachelmidlands
    4 years ago